Joyce Yang

Joyce Yang, a senior at Bartlesville High School, is one of only 161 seniors nationwide to be named a U.S. Presidential Scholar in its 59th class. U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona today announced Yang was among the seniors being recognized for their accomplishments in academics, the arts, and career and technical education fields.

As directed by Presidential Executive Order, the 2023 U.S. Presidential Scholars are comprised of one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico, and U.S. families living abroad, as well as 15 chosen at-large; Yang is among those 121 students. An additional 20 scholars in the arts and 20 scholars in career and technical education were also selected.

Joyce Yang is the BHS Student Body President, President of the Interact Club, an Academic All-Stater, and has been an Oklahoma Girls State Governor, Girls Nation Senator, a finalist at the Regeneron International Science and Engineering Fair, a Kennedy Center International Young Soloist, and received the State Superintendent's Awards for Arts Excellence: Piano.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic and technical excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as a demonstrated commitment to community service and leadership.

Of the 3.7 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 5,000 candidates qualified for the 2023 awards determined by outstanding performance on the College Board SAT or ACT exams or through nominations made by chief state school officers, other partner recognition organizations and YoungArts, the National Foundation for the Advancement of Artists.

Created in 1964, the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program has honored over 8,000 of the nation's top-performing students. The program was expanded in 1979 to recognize students who demonstrate exceptional talent in the visual, literary and performing arts. In 2015, the program was again extended to recognize students who demonstrate ability and accomplishment in career and technical education fields.

The Presidential Scholars Class of 2023 will be recognized for their outstanding achievement this summer with an online recognition program.

Yvonne Shay from Bartlesville was a U.S. Presidential Scholar in 1992, although she graduated from the Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics. Bartlesville High School previously produced U.S. Presidential Scholars Virginia Hendrix in 1986 and Joseph Basinger in 1985. In its previous incarnation as College High School, it produced U.S. Presidential Scholars Greg Thornburg in 1980,  Colette Pipkin in 1978,  Janet Bost in 1973, and Summerlynne Solop in 1972.